One Bad Ass Mom

I got the chance to visit my old workplace with A the other day.  We took lunch in for a friend and got to eat in my old lunch room.  It’s hard to believe that it’s been almost a year and a half that I quit a job I loved, to pursue a job that I (most of the time) love, too.

That new job was to be a mom.  A stay-at-home mom, but a mom, nonetheless.

I miss the identity of being a nurse.  But I love being the wife, homemaker, MOM, of our household.

There are many hats that I’ve worn.  So many things I can claim.  Though, a lot of days, it feels like I’m ‘just a mom’, and that’s it.

The truth for me is this: I love it.  But I hate it.

I love that I am raising our daughter (and soon a son) the way that we want them raised.  I love that I can have dinner on the table for my family every day, promptly, at 5 o’clock.  I love that I can do what I want, when I want, even though I have to schedule around nap times, bedtimes, plan ahead with toddler snacks and cups, diapers, etc.  Some days it’s a struggle.  But it’s worth it.

From the outside looking in, it looks like a fairytale.  It is, in some ways.  At least once you get used to it.

But what I really hate the most?  Is that now society throws this blanket statement over me, and other stay-at-home moms, that we’re ‘just moms’.  All those things I did in the past?  Doesn’t seem to matter anymore.  All those life experiences that taught me to be the mom that I am?  Who cares.  You’re ‘just a mom’.

You want to know who I am?  I’m a daughter, a wife, a Christian, a niece, sister-in-law, aunt, and a friend to many.  I cook (and I’m pretty damn good at it), I clean, I garden.  I’m a kick ass knitter, and I’m pretty awesome with a sewing machine, too.  I’m a swimmer.  I love barre3 (though not when this terribly pregnant).  I’ve been on a pretty amaze balls missions trip to Guatemala.  I was a lifeguard for 5 years (miss the ‘tanning’ perks of that job…)  I’ve made it this far into parenthood without driving a van, and I’m pretty sure that streak will stick  (sorry to my friends who are van fans).  I was a pretty sick cello player; spent EIGHT FULL YEARS as first chair.  I was a Farm Show Queen, and I rocked it.  I still hold a valid nursing license.  I was a pediatric nurse for 5 years, and THAT is pretty kick ass, too.  I can drive a truck AND back it into a parking spot in one shot (go ahead, dare me).  I can shoot bow better than my husband (though, don’t bother asking him, he won’t admit to that).

I’m pretty bad ass.  I’m not ‘just a mom’.  True, I’ve got the battle scars to PROVE that I’m a mom.  But I am so much more.  I’ve done so many things in my life, that at this point?  At this point, no.  I’m not just a mom.  I am a bad ass mom.

And my fellow mom friends?  You’re bad ass too.

So this Mother’s Day, I’m going to celebrate who I am right now in life.  I know I will always be a mom.  That became a reality on May 1st of 2013.  At this point, I am really in the thickest trenches of parenthood.  But I am also celebrating who I was and reminiscing about all of those other battle scars I got (they definitely weren’t from playing cello….  maybe I shouldn’t go into detail on some of those).  And I am celebrating the fact that I lived through those years and that I can now say that because of those experiences, I’m not ‘just a mom’.  I am a bad ass mom.

❤ One bad ass mom

One thought on “One Bad Ass Mom

  1. Pingback: In response to your letter… | sweetpeas

Leave a Reply

