For my little boy.

Hey little man.

You’re not here yet.  At least when I’m writing this you haven’t yet arrived.  But that’s ok.  I still know you pretty well already.

I know you have one awesome big sister.  Well, two actually.  One is a four-legged sister.  She’s fabulous too.

Your big sister, A, I don’t think she really knows that you’re coming soon.  She likes to rest her head on my belly.  But I think that might just be because it is a convenient height for her to rest on.  You’re pretty lucky that she’s going to be your big sister.  She likes her one baby doll and is really good at taking care of her.  But she likes trucks and dirt and tractors, too.  She’s not too much of a “girly girl”.  She likes Mickey Mouse Clubhouse.  I think, someday you’ll probably like that show too.  But she also likes Sofia the First.  That’s about a princess.  You might not like that one too much, even though there is a prince in it.  I hate to break it to you, but she’s your OLDER sister.  That means she is probably going to boss you around a little bit.  So, if Sofia is on?  You might not get to change the channel.  Sorry buddy.  You’re the younger one.  You’ll have special privileges too.

And your four-legged sister, Autumn? She’s great.  She’s so gentle and tolerant.  And if there’s something you don’t like to eat, I bet you can convince her to eat it for you, probably without me or your daddy knowing.

Speaking of, your daddy is pretty fabulous, too.  I know, because he had to learn how to be a daddy with your sister.  I didn’t think he had it in him to be the daddy that he is.  But wow.  You’re very lucky.  He’ll teach you, and your sister, all kinds of things.  And I’m sure he will teach you how to be a good man, great husband, and a wonderful daddy, just like him.  Though, maybe we can hold off on the ‘husband’ and ‘daddy’ stuff for awhile, okay?

When your sister came she gave us a little bit of a scare, shortly after she was born.  And we had a rough time with her for the first 2 months.  Someday when you’re older I’ll tell you about that, but right now it doesn’t really matter.  But, I would be really happy if maybe you could just come out super healthy and we can go home when we’re supposed to as a family.  Think you can spare me that heart attack?  You will have plenty of other opportunities to scare me senseless.  Maybe just this once you could give me a free pass?

You’re a busy guy already.  It won’t surprise me if you are easily catching up to your sister in the next few years.  She’s got a lot of energy too, though.  So, it might take you awhile to keep up with her initially.  Momma is gonna be tired out, for sure.

I have a lot of hopes and dreams for you, sweet boy.  I won’t ever tell you what to do with your life, and I won’t ever hold you back.  I made the same promise to your sister.  But I do want you to be caring, stick up for the underdog.  Be respectful of everyone, regardless of who they are or how old they are.  Love everyone and don’t judge; there are a lot of very different people in our world today, that don’t have our same beliefs or same lifestyles.  But I still want you to love them as if they were our family.  If you make a mistake, it’s ok.  We all do.  But you need to own it.  Don’t be afraid to admit you were wrong.  Learn how to treat others.  I hope I can be a good example of that to you and A, but I know somedays I won’t be the best I can be.  If ever you think I am making a mistake, or I am not ‘practicing what I preach’, call me out on it.  It might upset me at first, but I will be so proud of you for standing up for yourself, and standing up for what’s right and what you believe in.  Most importantly, I want you to love God.  If you get lost in your life, as long as you have Him you will have a way out.

Buddy, I love you so much already.  I didn’t know what love truly was until having your sister.  I love your daddy, definitely.  But when you have kids, you’ll understand this different kind of love.  We are all so excited to meet you, to make our little family of 3 (and Auty), a family of 4 (and Auty).

Until we meet,

❤ Momma

Leave a Reply

