Lists

As I prepare for baby #2, I can’t help but wonder where I would be without pen and paper.

I have my list for the items to go in the hospital bag.  I have a list for A’s bag to go to grandma’s, and consequently a list of “remember this” for my mom when she has A.  I have a list of meals I want to make ahead of time to freeze before the baby comes.  I have a list of things for C to remember to do when we are at the hospital (i.e. remember to call and cancel A’s therapies).

Hell.  I even started a list for our family vacation which isn’t even until 4 months after the baby is born.

In some ways, I am a bit OCD.  This is one of those ways.

Some people can fly by the seat of their pants.  And I admire these people.  Just the thought of doing such a thing makes my blood pressure sky rocket.

I’m sure A will be fine with her Nana and Pop for a few days.  She’s stayed overnight a few times already and always seems to have a grand old time.  But what if?  

I’m sure it won’t matter if we forget to bring a toothbrush for one of us to the hospital.  But then, we’d have to use the hospital grade freebies, and y’all….  they’re TERRIBLE.

I think this time around, it seems so much more daunting, because not only do I have to prepare myself, my husband, my daughter, my dog, and then prepare for the new little guy to come home, but this time?  This time I will be bringing another little one into an already busy household.  But it’s a challenge I am willing accepting.

Things need to be orderly.  I need to have a game plan.  I can’t just lay around and sleep all day this time, like I did when we brought A home.  This time?  This time there are even more wrenches thrown into the toolbox.

I like order.  I don’t mind the endless lists.  But don’t mess with my plan.  And don’t you dare steal my lists.

It’s my thing.  Some people run marathons.  I run a household.  And I’m pretty damn good at it, thank-you-very-much.

❤ (the overly-organized-obsessively-compulsive-Type A) Erin

Leave a Reply

