A year ago

A year ago, I was only a week from A’s birth.  Although we didn’t know that at the time.  She was born 10 days early.

I was so done with pregnancy by that point.  I honestly can’t tell you how much I hated pregnancy.  And I had the easiest pregnancy ever.  My blood pressure was low.  Not high like most women.  Instead, they were telling me to eat potato chips, for the salt content, to get my blood pressure up.  What pregnant woman wouldn’t LOVE to hear that?

My glucose tolerance test came back low, like in a good way.  And I was nervous I would have to do it over again, because my mom and I had just gone out for lunch for her birthday.

The worst thing I had was anemia.  It was supposedly so low that I shouldn’t have been able to stand up, between that and my low blood pressure.  They were concerned that I would pass out at anytime.  I didn’t, but everyone I worked with knew about it too, and freaked out anytime I did anything more strenuous than picking up a pen.

And it drove me NUTS.

That was what I hated the most about pregnancy.  If you know me, you know I do things on my own.  I don’t ask for help.  I don’t like people to help me, I don’t like being told what to do, and when to do it, and how to do it.  I don’t like sitting still.

Pregnancy is pretty much the definition of all of the above.  It’s extra attention.  That I didn’t want.  It’s complete strangers touching your stomach.  Creepy.  It’s directions on what to do and what not to do.  I’ll think for myself, dammit.

In the end, it was worth it.  I love my little like no other.  She is the best baby ever.  She is so laid back and just amazing and perfect.  And I’m getting a little carried away….

Would I do it again?  Hmmm.  Is there any way I can get around it?  Like can I get C to be a surrogate for me?  That would be super.

In the end.  I think I would.  But I need to forget too many things about it first.  I need to stuff in as many girls nights out and margaritas as I can before we get two pink lines again.  And I think I need to train A to tie shoes first.  Because that was pretty much the only time I asked for help.  And 95% of the time I made it to work with my shoes on, but had to ask a coworker to tie them for me.  And I guess, since I’m a stay-at-home mom now, I don’t really have coworkers.

Think I could teach the dog to tie my shoes?

Probably gonna be awhile before I can teach either of them, so don’t count on anything anytime soon.

❤ Erin

Leave a Reply

