One of those days.

Well, weeks, actually.

Have you ever had one of those days?  You know the ones.  Where, just NOTHING goes right?  Or one that you just wake up on the wrong side of the bed?  Or the one that you just have the sixth sense that sh*ts gonna hit the fan, but you’re just not sure when?

That was my whole WEEK last week.  No joke.

Over the past week our oven decided to check out, our internet has been playing a game of ‘now you have me, now you don’t’, and since we needed to have someone come look at the oven, we figured we should also have him look at our ice maker that hasn’t been working for months.  Monday a very nice gentleman came to fix our appliances (for a very hefty bill).  And I sat on the phone with the cable company for over 45 minutes with someone, who, after 5 minutes, STILL hadn’t gotten the correct spelling of our last name.

Tuesday morning, around 3 AM I woke to the sound of Auty dry heaving.  Then, the gut wrenching.  Then the barfing.  By the time all was said and done she had vomited around 7-8 times.  Almost every half an hour.  The poor thing didn’t make it more than 30 minutes before going at it again.  Somewhere in the middle she did last for about an hour.  I had just crawled back in bed and A let out this blood curdling scream.  Her legs (yes, both) were stuck in her crib slats.  After bringing her into my bed for a little while to calm her down, I took her back to her room.  And again, I had just crawled back in bed (this is roughly 5 AM), and Auty started vomiting again.

Long story short, after an hour long veterinarian trip, we still didn’t have an exact answer.  Rather an assumption that she ate something that didn’t sit well with her or the possibility of her just having a touch of the stomach bug.  Who knew a dog could get the stomach bug?

That in itself was a terror.  We LOVE our veterinarian, but taking a busy 12 month old to the veterinarian with a sickly 60-lb golden retriever, after having only 4 hours of sleep….  Yeah, I won’t tell you how that went other than it involved pajamas for the 2 out of 3 of us that are required to wear clothing in public.  Think people of walmart, barfy-canine style.

After nursing Auty back to health, A ended up with a terrible rash.  Now, keep in mind.  I was a pediatric nurse for 5 years.  There’s not a whole lot that scares me, or even makes me flinch.  This was a totally different story.  I have NEVER seen a rash this bad.  It’s everywhere.  She was scratching, screaming, scratching, and then crying uncontrollably.  Her little boyfriend was over in the morning and she normally loves seeing him.  But she didn’t.  Which should have been my first clue.  After they left, she screamed nonstop for almost 2 hours.

And we still don’t know exactly what her rash is or what it’s from.  We’re meeting with a pediatric dermatologist this week.  But, we’re hardcore drugging her with Benadryl, Zyrtec, an antibiotic, and a cocktail of ointments for her skin.

Forgot to mention: Auty also has some ear drops for the next week too.  How do people have more than one kid?  Seriously?  I have to think three times before giving anyone meds around here.  I’m surprised I haven’t put Benadryl in Auty’s ears and rubbed some doggie ear drops on A’s skin…

Through everything, surprisingly, I was able to keep my sanity.   I don’t know how.  So don’t ask.  I have no tips.  I’m just hoping next week will be better.  And I hope yours will be wonderful as well.  But mainly, I just hope that mines better.  😉

❤ Erin

Leave a Reply

