Target

Ya’ll know I love a good deal, and I love Target.  And often, you can find some pretty darn good deals there.  Specifically in the baby section.

Every time I get those surveys on the bottom of the receipt I tell them I want them to expand their baby section.  They haven’t yet.  Hopefully if I keep bugging them, they might?

Anywho.  I’m kind of funny about buying store brand stuff.  I know there are you die hards out there that say it’s the same thing, but I disagree.  In some instances.

But Target has this great store brand up&up.  And more often than not, I am buying from that stock.  Especially in the baby aisle.  Here are a few of my finds and standbys for A:

IMG_1126

Aquaphor: 5$ cheaper?  Yes, and it IS the same darn thing, works just as well. (Word of the wise: when it comes to aquaphor, I know the tub is more expensive, but just buy it.  You will thank me later.  The tubes are too much of a pain to squeeze out when you have a wiggly baby)

IMG_1128

Desitin: same thing.  I think I almost prefer the Target brand, because it smells a little better.  The brand name has this very medicinal smell, whereas up&up smells fresh, powdery, babyish.  Oh, and excuse the glare: that’s supposed to say $5.29 for the brand name.  At almost 3$ more, stick with the store brand.

Screen Shot 2014-03-03 at 9.59.06 AM

Baby food: ya’ll know I make a lot of my own baby food, but there are just some combinations that would totally gag me if I had to make them.  And sometimes, it is just easier to do these shelf-safe versions vs my needs-to-be-refrigerated versions.  And at $.60 cheaper?  That’s a score.

Screen Shot 2014-03-03 at 10.05.16 AM

Diapers, yup.  Promise they are the real deal.  The only reason I don’t get them as often is because I frequently get SUPER deals on the little packs of them at Rite Aid.  And honestly?  We don’t do a whole lot of disposables.  We are a gDiaper family.

Screen Shot 2014-03-03 at 10.07.28 AMAs I just said, we are a cloth diaper family, 90% of the time, so we don’t use these guys very often, but we still do use them here and there.  This is a GREAT deal and they function just as well.  I have found that the up&up brand is actually a thicker material than the diaper genie.  Which is super if you know what a 3-day old poopy diaper smells like.

Screen Shot 2014-03-03 at 10.08.19 AM

Formula: Ok, so this may not look like a great deal, but look closer.  See how many ounces are in each container.  Enfamil has 22.2 oz for 25.79 (which averages out to $1.16/ounce.  Up&Up is 40 ounce for 24.99 (which averages to  $.62/ounce.  That’s a good deal.  And formula is regulated by the FDA, so anything that is sold has to go through rigorous testing.  So, it is the same darn thing, just not as colorful packaging!

And another thing: if you have a smart phone you can download Target’s ‘cartwheel app’.  There are recurring deals that you can choose from on the app.  For example, 5% off a gallon of milk.  Often, they have discounts on their brand up&up for baby food, formula, diapers, etc.  So, you can save even MORE money!

❤ Erin

Leave a Reply

