Welcome to Cloth Diapers!

I know maybe that wasn’t exactly what you were expecting…

But, I feel like I should try my best to educate others as much as possible on our cloth diapering journey.

First of all, I want to say, please don’t think I would judge someone who does not cloth diaper.  We have SEVERAL friends who think we are crazy by cloth diapering.  And we don’t hold grudges.  There are days WE think we are crazy.  But parenting and parenting choices are often a very personal decision based on past or current life circumstances.  We don’t ever judge other parents, as we feel very strongly that everyone will have their own unique style and finesse’ so to speak on how they do things.  Moving on….

I would say our number one reason NOW for cloth diapering is that it is cost effective (come back later this week to see how it may or may not be cost effective for you).  Although this was not necessarily the reason behind cloth diapering initially.

I first got into it, because I wanted to be that momma.  You know who they are.  The ones who have all their sh*t together.  The ones who look impeccable all the time, whose kids are incredibly well-behaved naturally.  I think all of us fantasize about how wonderful our lives are going to be before we have our first child.  Because we have all SEEN those moms.  And we all desire to be like them.

Then reality sets in.

Our first few weeks were rough, at best.  A was in the NICU for the first 5 days of her life (where, we really couldn’t make ANY decisions for her).  Then landed herself BACK in the hospital for an overnight stay, because she had continued jaundice.

Although I had all of these fantasies of how wonderful our life would be and how stress-free a baby would be in our home, I got a really hard smack in the face with all of the events in her first few weeks of life.

On top of that, breastfeeding was going HORRIBLY.  I didn’t have the energy to deal with the cute little cloth diapers I stocked up on.

And then, there are those super slimy, green, GROSS, newborn poops.  Now, keep in mind, I had been a pediatric nurse for 5 years before my daughter was born.  Prior to that, I had experience working on a dairy farm.  Where cows literally poop on you the whole time you are milking.  I was an expert at poop.

But scraping baby poop off of a cloth that I was going to put in my washer?  Yea, that didn’t happen.

So to say that we have EXCLUSIVELY cloth diapered is horribly inaccurate.  In the beginning,  Pampers were the way to go.  Now?  We cloth diaper 80% of the time.  For naps and bedtime, she is in a disposable.  And on the rare occasion we go anywhere further than the grocery store she is in a disposable.  The rest of the time it is cloth diapers.

As a stay-at-home mom, I feel the need to conserve as much as possible financially, to try to help take the burden off of my husband as best I can.  So, our main reason is the cost savings.

We aren’t ‘tree-huggers’, so we’re not really doing it for the environmental benefits.  BUT, I strongly suggest you research that.  It’s scary how long it takes disposable diapers to decompose…

We’re not ‘organic’ either.  We eat our fair-share of Oreos and other overly processed snacks around here.  But, I know there are people that do want to protect their children from all of the harmful chemicals and crap there is in this world.  And I totally support you on that!

There are a TON of other reasons too, as to why you would want to cloth diaper.  And whatever your reason is, good for you!  Hopefully, if you are on the fence about it, I will be able to shed some light on our findings, to help you make the decision that is right for you!

❤ Erin

Leave a Reply

