How to clean your towels

As you well know by now, I am a Pinterest addict.

I found a pin the other day about how to clean your towels properly.  Basically was saying about how their is a lot of buildup on towels from the detergent and softener and after awhile your towels are not as absorbent as they once were.

What you’re supposed to do:

Run your towels through a hot water cycle with 1 cup of vinegar in your (liquid) detergent dispenser.

Do another hot water cycle, this time with 1/2 cup baking soda in your (dry) detergent dispenser.

So, I tried it.  I used the quick wash cycle.

And even though you are trying to get rid of the softener and build up and yada yada… I used a dryer sheet.  I know, shame on me.  I just couldn’t stand that my towels didn’t smell nice.

My findings:

Although I don’t think it was an epic fail, I also don’t think a small miracle was performed in my washer this morning either. I’ve yet to have “tested” the absorbency since my little experiment.  But, I guess I had expected for them to come out super soft and ready to go.  Which wasn’t the case.

But the one great thing that happened is that it got rid of the dusky smell we had on out towels.  We are a ‘use-the-towel-once-then-wash’ type of a family.  So, when there are a few days between towel washings, sometimes they sit and get kind of smelly.  This DID indeed help with that.

So, my suggestion is to give it a try and see if it works for you.  Vinegar and baking soda can’t hurt anything, so it’s not like you’re going to lose your favorite towels.

Good luck!  And if you try it, let me know how you make out!

❤ Erin

Leave a Reply

